Lighthouse - Add or Invite a New User

Every individual who uses Lighthouse must have a user name set up in Lighthouse Web before they can access Lighthouse

There are two ways to add users to Lighthouse. One way is to use the Add Users button where you add a unique user name and a password for them to log in with. Adding users this way is most commonly used when you are adding bulk users who work in the field and have the same locations, start/end shift and notification options. Once the users are set up, employees will need to obtain their user name and password from their managers, supervisors or admin. Also, use this method when setting up customers to receive email reports.

The other option is to use the Invite button where you set the user permissions and the recipient receives an email invite. This way is most commonly used for adding administrators, managers or supervisors who will use Lighthouse Web. The employee receives an email with an invitation link. When they click the link it displays the log in window. During log in, the user sets their own password. If they want any notifications, they can navigate to the Profile tab to set them up.

Add Users Button

  1. In Lighthouse Web navigate to Settings by clicking your user name at the top right of the window
  2. Click the Users tab
  3. Click the Add Users button
  4. Click the Role drop down and select the appropriate role
  5. Click the Locations drop down and select the appropriate location you want the user(s) to have access to
  6. Note:  If no locations are selected, then the user will have access to all locations.

  7. Set the Start Shift and End Shift drop downs to either Automatically or Manually
  8. Note:  If you set the Start/End Shift field to Automatically, when the employee signs into the mobile app it automatically records a shift event and starts calculating time based on logged in time. If you set this field to Manually, when the employee signs in it displays a message asking if they want to sign in. Manually is often used when you require a manual acceptance event and for customers who are tracking timekeeping either through TeamTime or a third party timekeeping system.

  9. In the Notification Preferences section, select the Enabled check box for the appropriate activities
  10. In the Select a notification method drop down, select the Email, Push or both check boxes

  11. If appropriate, enter the Send after drop down and timezone

  12. For report notifications, select either Summary Report or Summary Report + Submissions

  13. For form notifications (tasks, audits and issues), select which templates to receive notifications

  14. Note:  If you do not select any template forms, notifications will default to sending them for all.

  15. Under the New Users section, enter the First/Last name, Username and Password
  16. Tip:  The recommended format for user names is to use your application ID + employee number/name. Example: team1234 or team.jsmith.

  17. Optional: enter the email and/or mobile number if the user(s) are setup to receive either email or mobile notifications
  18. Click the Save button at the bottom of the window

Invite Button

  1. In Lighthouse Web navigate to Settings by clicking your user name at the top right of the window
  2. Click the Users tab
  3. Click the Invite button
  4. In the New Users section, add the email address in the Email field
  5. In the Roles and Permissions section, click the Role drop down and select the appropriate role
  6. Click the Locations drop down and select the appropriate location you want the user(s) to have access to
  7. Note:  If no locations are selected, the user will have access to all locations.

  8. Set the Start Shift and End Shift drop downs to either Automatically or Manually
  9. Note:  If you set the Start/End Shift field to Automatically, when the employee signs into the mobile app it will automatically record a shift event and start calculating time based on the logged in time. If you set this field to Manually, when the employee signs in it sends a displayed message asking if they want to sign in. Manually is often used when you require a manual acceptance event and for customers who are tracking timekeeping either through TeamTime or a third party timekeeping system.

  10. Click the Invite User button at the bottom of the window
  11. Once you click the Invite User button, the recipient will receive an email invite