Lighthouse Mobile FAQ
We recommend all mobile users log out of the app at the end of each shift. Logging out ensures:
Accurate location tracking
If you are using an iOS or Android device, the operating systems may turn off the GPS tracking in the background, even when you have granted location permission to the Lighthouse app . Devices do this to conserve battery and protect user privacy from apps that are constantly tracking their location (usually after about 24 hours of continuous tracking). Every time you log in to the Lighthouse app, the app will request permission again and reboot the location tracking. Because there is no way of knowing that Location Services/GPS tracking has paused in the background, logging out and back in is the best way to ensure it is functioning properly.
One of the most common issues to indicate that users have had their Location Services/GPS tracking paused is when there is a long shift time (such as 10 days) but GPS events only on the first day of that shift.
All data is properly synced
If you have a poor data connection, forms and location data will continue to be collected and stored in the app. During the log out process, we run an extra check to make sure all of that data gets sent to Lighthouse. See Offline Mode for more information.
The application runs smoothly
Similar to rebooting your computer or phone, logging out refreshes everything and helps it run smoothly. We also recommend restarting your device occasionally as well to help improve performance.
Accurate shift reporting
The accuracy of shift report data relies on users logging in when they arrive on a job site and logging out when they are finished. Even if you don't actively use this report, the log in/out data is useful for seeing who may/may not be at a particular job site.
The amount of data Lighthouse Mobile uses depends heavily on the amount of time spent in the app and they type of functions being performed (submitting tasks, messages, photos, etc.). However, the typical amount of data used is less than 500MB per month. You can check specific app data usage following the instructions for your specific android or iOS device.
When you sign into Lighthouse Mobile, it begins tracking location in the background via GPS and/or Bluetooth Beacons. QR codes and NFC are active tracking meaning the location event is based on you physically scanning the bar code through the mobile app. As soon as you log out of Lighthouse, all location tracking stops.
No. If a user is not logged in, no location data can be tracked.
No. The only information Lighthouse uses is the data stored in the application. Lighthouse may access your camera to submit photos, but images must be uploaded to the app.
We are committed to protecting your privacy. We will not request unnecessary personal details through our mobile app.
Messages are only visible to users included in the message group, regardless of permission level. Admins user are not able to view private 1:1 messages.
Yes. A new user will be able to see the full history of the message thread.
No. If a user is removed from an active message thread, the message group will no longer appear and they cannot access history.
Currently, the Activity feed only displays the following information:
- Shifts started/finished
- Exceptions (open and closed)
- Tasks, Issues, and Audits submitted and updated
The Activity feed does not include a running list of all completed scans. Therefore, if you have completed a regular scan within a normal loop time interval and no exception has been raised, you will not see the scan register in Activity.
When you enter the geofence of a new location, come in contact with a Bluetooth beacon or scan a QR code, your Recent Activity feed in Lighthouse Mobileupdates to display Activity at your current location. If this isn't working correctly, there may be a few reasons:
Location Services is turned off
To know your location, Lighthouse Mobile must have permission to use your device's location services. Even if you enabled these permissions when you first downloaded the app, you may need to provide permissions to location services again, using the instructions for your device and operating system.
Bluetooth is turned off
If it is a Bluetooth Beacon location that is not showing location, Bluetooth may have been turned off on your device. This can happen when your device's battery is low, or you may have turned it off manually. If Bluetooth is turned off when you sign into the app, Lighthouse will prompt you to turn it back on. Go to your device's settings, find Bluetooth and make sure it is on.
Lighthouse Mobile or you device needs rebooted
Try logging out of Lighthouse Mobile and restarting your phone.